nY came into being in 2009 as a result of the fusion of two Flemish literary journals—yang (founded in 1963) and freespace Nieuwzuid (founded in 1999). This fusion took place because the arrival of the Internet has definitively changed the way literary journals function. nY is no longer a literary-cultural journal, as we have known them for almost two centuries now, but a cross-media project, the core of which is the intersection of a paper journal and this website.

The name nY is an amalgamation of the first letters of the founding journals. In the Scandinavian languages, “ny” means new, which is fortuitous—as long as it is clear that nY is not just naively standing by extolling anything that claims to be new. The “good” new must be clearly characterized. To do that, nY, just as in the last issue of yang, refers to Walter Benjamin’s mission statement for the never-born journal Angelus Novus. nY will be “rigorous in its thought and unwavering in its readiness to say what it believes, without any concessions to its public, particularly where it is a matter of distilling what is truly relevant from the sterile pageant of new and fashionable events, the exploitation of which can be left to the newspapers.”*

Consequently, the new that is relevant to nY is that which does not concern itself with the consensus. For that reason, the nY project is often a critical one. But it also has a powerful, creative aspect—it generates alternatives that were never before considered possible. The categorical imperative to which nY adheres is this: show them that it can be done differently! This imperative is inherent in every creative act, and the heeding of this imperative calls up the same feelings—tension, uneasiness and sometimes even fear, but also, most of all, the pleasure of adventure and freedom regained.

In line with this, nY resolves to be a discursive machine, in other words a machine which brings unconventional concepts and ideas into circulation. At the root of this practice is the conviction that reality (the social, the historical) is a set of constructions founded in influential discourses. Engaging in these discourse results in the reinvention of our reality. And that, in addition to being a critical pursuit, is also an extremely pleasurable one.

(translated from Dutch by d’onderkast vof)

Info

In addition to this website, nY publishes 4 print issues per year of approximately 160 pages each. Each issue is illustrated by a different visual artist. Not all of the texts which appear in nY-print are available on nY-web, which has its own editorial team and generates its own content.

Subscribe
A subscription to nY-print can be started at any time during the year. For Belgium: individuals pay € 25; for other countries: individuals € 30; students: €20; institutions: €50. Deposit the cost of the subscription to account number 000-1702138-79 or, for foreign subscriptions, via European direct deposit to IBAN BE58000170213879 / BIC BPOTBEB1 (Bank van de Post) or via PayPal to info@ny-web.be. Please mention your postal and e-mail addresses, and confirm your order via e-mail. Notification of cancellation must occur three months before the end of the current publication year. Single issues can be ordered from the managing editor.

nY Office
attn Koen Sels
Albert Grisarstraat 52, 2018 Antwerp, Belgium



For more information and submissions, contact
info@ny-web.be

Credits

Graphic design
Lauren Grusenmeyer

Colophon

CC (editors nY-print)
Hans Demeyer - Iannis Goerlandt - Els Moors - Sarah Posman - Matthijs de Ridder - Koen Sels - Samuel Vriezen

WWW (editors nY-web)
Patrick Peeters - Erik Spinoy

SECRETARY’S OFFICE
Koen Sels
Albert Grisarstraat 52
2018 Antwerpen
Belgium
info@ny-web.be

ADVISORY BOARD
Inge Arteel - Dirk van Bastelaere - Joost Beerten - Geert Buelens - Bert Bultinck - Pieter De Buysser - Nico Carpentier - Iannis Goerlandt - Rokus Hofstede - Dirk Van Hulle - Lucas Hüsgen - Erwin Jans - Piet Joostens - Bart Meuleman - Jan H. Mysjkin - Harold Polis - Marc Reugebrink - Daniël Rovers - Dirk De Schutter - Johan Sonnenschein - Bruno De Wachter

DESIGN
Lauren Grusenmeyer (design nY-web) & Oliver Ibsen (design nY-print)

ART
Robin Vanbesien
Jan Op de Beeck

List of visual artists published in nY

nY is a publication of the non-profit organization Yang and was created with the support of the Flemish Literature Fund and the Province East Flanders.

nY is a member of Folio.

Responsible publisher: Sarah Posman, Spellewerkstraat 6, 9030 Ghent, Belgium

Persons who could not be contacted concerning the copyright are requested to contact the secretary’s office.

nY, qui a vu le jour en 2009, est né de la fusion de deux revues littéraires flamandes : yang (fondée en 1963) et freespace Nieuwzuid (fondée en 1999). Cette fusion découle aussi de la véritable métamorphose que la venue d’internet a imposée au paysage de la revue littéraire. nY n’est plus une revue littéraire culturelle comme il en a existé pendant près de deux siècles, mais un projet transmédia, avec une revue sur papier et ce site web pour plaques tournantes.

Le nom nY est la contraction des initiales des deux revues fondatrices. Qui plus est, dans les langues scandinaves, « ny » signifie « nouveau ». Cette dernière acception est un véritable cadeau, pour autant qu’il soit clair que nY ne s’ébaubit pas devant tout ce qui se dit « nouveau ». Le « bon » nouveau doit donc clairement être spécifié. C’est pourquoi nY se réfère, tout comme le dernier numéro de yang, à la mission statement qu’écrivit Walter Benjamin pour la revue Angelus Novus : il en va de « ce qui prend forme, en tant que véritable actualité, sous la surface stérile du nouveau ou du dernier cri – dont l'exploitation doit être abandonnée aux quotidiens – et ceci en défiant totalement le public, s’il le faut. »

Le nouveau qui importe à nY, est donc ce qui ne se soucie pas du consensus. C’est pourquoi le projet nY est souvent un projet critique. Mais il a aussi une puissante face créatrice : il génère des possibilités insoupçonnées jusqu’ici. L’impératif catégorique auquel se plie nY est le suivant : prouver qu’il peut en aller autrement ! Cet impératif est inhérent à chaque acte créatif, et s’y conformer suscite les mêmes émotions : la tension, le malaise parfois même l’angoisse – mais surtout le plaisir de l’aventure et de la liberté reconquise.

Dans ce contexte, nY se propose d’être une machine discursive, c’est-à-dire une machine qui fait circuler des idées et des concepts insolites. Cette pratique se nourrit de la conviction que la réalité (sociale, historique) est une construction qui repose sur des discours influents. Remettre ces discours sur l’enclume équivaut à réinventer la réalité. Et cette activité critique a, en outre, l’avantage d’être plaisamment gratifiante.

(traduit du néerlandais par Monique Nagielkopf)

Info

A côté de ce site, nY publie chaque année 4 numéros de plus ou moins 180 pages, illustrés par un artiste plasticien. Certains textes sont également disponibles sur le site, qui a son propre comité de rédaction et son propre contenu.

Un abonnement coûte € 25 (particuliers en Belgique). Autres pays: € 30 (particuliers). Édudiants: ou € € 20. Institutions: € 50. A verser sur le compte bancaire n° 000-1702138-79; à l'étranger: virement européen sur IBAN BE58000170213879 / BIC BPOTBEB1 (Banque de la Poste) en mentionnant vos adresses postale et électronique. Veuillez confirmer votre commande par courriel. Pour mettre fin à votre abonnement, informez le secrétariat au moins 3 moins avant la fin de l'année. Vous pouvez également commander des numéros individuels au secrétariat.

Secrétariat nY
à l'attention de M. Koen Sels
Albert Grisarstraat 52, 2018 Anvers, Belgique

Plus d'infos:
info@ny-web.be

Credits

Conception graphique
Lauren Grusenmeyer

Colophon

CC (rédaction nY imprimé)
Hans Demeyer - Iannis Goerlandt - Els Moors - Sarah Posman - Matthijs de Ridder - Koen Sels - Samuel Vriezen

WWW (rédaction nY web)
Patrick Peeters - Erik Spinoy

SECRETARIAT
Koen Sels
Albert Grisarstraat 52, 2018 Antwerpen, Belgique
info@ny-web.be

CONSEIL
Inge Arteel - Dirk van Bastelaere - Joost Beerten - Geert Buelens - Bert Bultinck - Pieter De Buysser - Nico Carpentier - Iannis Goerlandt - Rokus Hofstede - Dirk Van Hulle - Lucas Hüsgen - Erwin Jans - Piet Joostens - Bart Meuleman - Jan H. Mysjkin - Harold Polis - Marc Reugebrink - Daniël Rovers - Dirk De Schutter - Johan Sonnenschein - Bruno De Wachter

GRAPHISME
Lauren Grusenmeyer (design nY-web) & Oliver Ibsen

IMAGES
Robin Vanbesien
Jan Op de Beeck

Liste des artistes plasticiens publiés dans nY

nY est une publication de l'asbl Yang, soutenu par le Fonds flamand des lettres et de la Province de la Flandre Orientale.

nY est membre de Folio.

Editeur responsable: Sarah Posman, Spellewerkstraat 6, 9030 Gand, Belgique

Les personnes que nous n'avons pas réussi à joindre concernant le droit d'auteur sont priées de s'adresser au secrétariat de la revue.